Skip to content

Nature – “Give postdocs a career, not empty promises”

March 5, 2011

I’ve been ranting and raving about the ills of academia for some time now, but I’ve always insisted that I am not alone in having these thoughts.  Sure, I might be more harsh in my criticisms sometimes, and I certainly whine about it more than most people, but my ideas aren’t radical – they are regularly brought up in the mainstream of science publications.  In today’s link, I feel especially validated in my whining, as it’s a piece from Nature that goes into the broken nature of academia.

The extra-tasty bit here, though, is there are actually some suggestions for fixing what’s broken.  My solution was to run away and never look back, transitioning to industry and probably burning a bridge or three in the process.  That approach certainly isn’t the right choice for everyone, so the community needs to come together to work on more reasonable long term ways to fix what’s broken.  A good first step is having some recognition of the problem in journals as prestigious as Nature.

For more, check out the article at http://www.nature.com/news/2011/110302/full/471007a.html

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

